Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

OxCODE Associate Director Professor David Hunter has been elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

The Academy of Medical Sciences has elected 11 University of Oxford biomedical and health scientists to its fellowship this year. All were selected for their exceptional contributions to the advancement of medical science through innovative research discoveries and translating scientific developments into benefits for patients and the wider society.

OxCODE Associate Director Professor David Hunter (Nuffield Department of Population Health) is elected as a Fellow for his leading role in HIV and later cancer research. A highly cited scientist, he has been involved in collaborative studies of nutrition and HIV pathogenesis, studied diet and cancer aetiology in large scale prospective studies, and developed a sample handling and genotyping laboratory to explore genetic associations with cancer, and gene-environment interactions.


As someone born in the UK, having grown up and gone to medical school in Australia, and having spent most of my career in epidemiology in the US, I am deeply honoured to be elected to the Academy, and look forward to participating in the important work the Academy does on behalf of UK and global medical science. - Professor David Hunter

The Academy of Medical Sciences is the independent body in the UK representing the diversity of medical science. Elected Fellows are the UK’s leading medical scientists from hospitals, academia, and industry. They are recognised for their innovative research discoveries and for translating scientific developments into benefits for patients and wider society. This year, 50 Fellows were chosen from 384 candidates.

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy on 1 July 2021. For details of the other Fellows elected this year, please visit the Academy of Medical Sciences website.